A VERY Mixed Bag – January 22nd 2012


Love Will Lead You Back Taylor Dayne - written by Diane Warren
It’s 5:50 am.  I wake up and hear Taylor Dane singing in my ear.  I turn over and go back to sleep, but first, I write it down so I don’t forget.  I first wrote about this song on the 19th.  It skipped a few days, but now it’s come back to me in my sleep.

Rolling In The Deep - Adele – written by Paul Epworth and Adele
9:15 am – I awaken to “Rolling In The Deep.”  This one was rolling around in my head yesterday, so I’m not surprised to be hearing it again.

You Belong To Me - The Duprees
9:50 am.  I’m looking at Facebook and I see “You Belong To Me,” from yesterday’s post and realize I didn’t download it as I had intended to, so I go out to iTunes to download it, so of course it starts playing in my head.

So Much In Love - The Tymes
10:05 am – While I’m looking for “You Belong To Me” I come across a Doo-wop compilation album called “So In Love” which reminds me of the song “So Much In Love,” and how much I like it, so I download that one, and now that’s what’s playing in my head.

If you would like to purchase this mp3 from Amazon, click here:
So Much In Love

Earth Angel - The Penguins
10:10 am – The songs keep coming.  “So In Love” leads me to “Earth Angel” and I am transported to one of my first boy-girl parties.  It may not be my first boy-girl party, but it’s the first one that is unsupervised.  I don’t know how old I am – maybe 15.  The lights are low and only slow-dance music is playing.  It feels edgy to me, like I’m doing something naughty.  I don’t even know these people.  This is a party at my friend’s cousin’s apartment, and he is older than us.  I am flushed and warm and it seems all my senses are heightened.  I am finally asked to dance.  The song is Earth Angel.  <sigh>  How wonderful it was to be so young and experiencing so many things and feelings for the first time!

If you would like to purchase this mp3 from Amazon, click here:
Earth Angel (Will You Be Mine)

Love Will Lead You Back - Taylor Dayne - written by Diane Warren
10:35 am – Back to where I started this morning.  I think it’s going to be a busy day in here.

Earth Angel - The Penguins
10:45 am – I think I’ve had too many songs in my head over the last hour or so.  My mind can’t decide which one it wants to settle on.

So Much In Love - The Tymes
11 am – And the winner is – “So Much In Love.”  This one settles in for a while.  I’m happy because I really like this one a lot.

Pack Up Your Sorrows - Judy Collins – written by Richard Farina and Pauline Marden
12:55 pm – My husband makes the remark, “My mind flows on in endless sorrows,” and I immediately think of “Pack Up Your Sorrows.”  But, I’m really not hearing Judy Collins.  I’m hearing me.  I used to play and sing this song quite often – in local folk concerts, in bars, in the park – I played my guitar and sang just about everywhere.  I don’t have a video of me, and Judy does a much better job of it.

If you would like to purchase this mp3 from Amazon, click here:
Pack Up Your Sorrows (LP Version)

Quintet for Piano and Strings in f minor – Op. 34 - Johannes Brahms
4 pm – My husband and I have just had the wonderful experience of seeing a live performance in a chapel with amazing acoustics, and I was sitting within 4 feet of the performers.  OMG!  It was an experience I will never forget.  A phrase of the finale of Brahms Quintet stays with me for a while.  Lucky me!

Those of you who live here in Mankato should look into the “Music on the Hill” series presented by the Mankato Symphony Orchestra.  The performances are at Good Counsel in the Chapel which has great acoustics.  There are two more programs coming up – one on March 24th and one on May 6th.  The tickets are only $15, and the performers are top notch.

Just You And Me - Jayson Belt - written by Rie Sinclair and Bobby Hartry
5:35 pm – Catching up on one of my guilty pleasures – General Hospital.  They played Jason and Sam’s theme in the episode I watched -  “Just You And Me,” and now I can’t get it out of my head.  I have always liked this song, but didn’t really know who recorded it or what the name was.  It took me a while, but I found it.  I can’t find any information about it other than what I have here.  I also found something on YouTube, but it’s just the music.

This mp3 is not available on Amazon, but it is available on iTunes.

You Came Around - Annie Bethancourt – written by Robert Hartry and Jayson Belt
6:20 pm – While I was looking for “Just You And Me,” I thought about that other theme that I like (“You Came Around” for Lulu and Dante) so I looked for that one too because it got stuck in my head.  Again, I can’t find any more information about this song.  Once again, I also found something on YouTube, but it’s just the music.  I really do like Annie Bethancourt’s voice.

This mp3 is not available on Amazon, but it is available on iTunes.

If You Were The Only Girl In The World - Mitch Miller version – published in 1916  by Nat D. Ayer and Clifford Grey
11:30 pm – I’ve just finished watching the latest episode of “Downton Abbey” and they sang this in the episode.  It’s WWI, and “If You Were The Only Girl In The World” is a very popular song.  I realize, while I’m watching this, that I am currently watching 3 programs which take place during or immediately after WWI.  Downton Abbey, Upstairs, Downstairs, and Boardwalk Empire.  No wonder I keep hearing this song.  I first wrote about it on January 10th.  There is a link to hear the song on that post.

Three Generations - John Tesh – written by C. Bisharat
It’s midnight and I’m headed back to my computer to finish today’s post.  I hear this song, “Three Generations,” which is from John Tesh’s CD, “winter song.”  It is one of my favorite CD’s of all time.  I was never very impressed with John Tesh’s music until this CD.  Only two of pieces on this CD were written by Tesh, but all of it was arranged by him and he did an extraordinary job.  Much of it is classical music (Bach‘s “Air for G String” and “Prelude to Cello,” and Satie‘s “Gymnopedie.” Corelli and Mascagni are also represented.  Again, his arrangements are different than you usually hear in classical music, and in each case, I think John Tesh has done a wonderful job.

I couldn’t find anything for this music on YouTube, so I’m linking to my own copy of the song.
Three Generations – C. Bisharat

Unfortunately, mp3 downloads are not available on either Amazon or iTunes, but Amazon does have the “winter song” CD available:   John Tesh/Winter Song

It’s been a long day with a lot of music running through my head.  Time for me to sleep.  Night, all.

One thought on “A VERY Mixed Bag – January 22nd 2012

  1. I have fond memories of hearing you play the guitar and singing “Pack Up Your Sorrows” – you were wonderful and soulful and, in my humble opinion, better than Judy Collins.

Leave a Reply

